Exploring the Bible / Faith / Uncategorized

What I Wish My “Liberal” Friends Knew About My “Conservatism”

I don’t want to support any presidential candidate who will increase so-called “social programs” but I want to give my money and things to the exact same people who benefit from those programs.

As political discourse mounts in frequency and … enthusiasm with the upcoming elections, the polarization of our nations two parties is perhaps more pronounced than I’ve ever seen it. Democrats and Republicans, liberals and conservatives, anti-this and pro-that.

ingreedwetrustSweeping generalizations about parties are a regular occurrence. One being that Republicans (I am one) and conservatives (I am one) lack compassion for the plight of those less fortunate, and want to make the rich richer and the poor poorer by selfishly hoarding their money and resources for their own use only. But I want the public to understand that that’s not (always) true. greedy-republicans

WANT to give my money to people who have fallen on hard times, who are at-risk, who are in need. I want them to have it. But I do NOT and can NOT support the government being the one to give it to them. I want them to have it and actually have more of it. I want them to walk into my church, to walk into a ministry, heck they can approach me on the sidewalk if they want to.

I want to give them my money and then I want to tell them why it wasn’t mine anyways. I want to explain to them that every earthly possession I have belongs to God and that I know he would want me to share it with them. I want to be blessed to be a blessing to them. I want to tell them about Jesus. I want to be friends with them, be in community with them, and I want to see them again someday when we’re sitting around heaven shooting the breeze.

Some might say that people shouldn’t be forced to believe in something or participate in “religion” when they don’t want to. That’s true! It’s not my job to change anyone’s heart. God will do that when he sees fit. I just want to tell you. You don’t have to believe me. You can tell me 1 million reasons why you believe I’m wrong.

america-bibleI don’t want our government to administer my money to those who need it but I want them to have it. I want to cancel all welfare programs and I want our churches, our ministries, our people to be the ones to administer aid to anyone and everyone who needs it. I identify with most of the platforms of conservative republicans and I think many who identify as such are frustrated with this same misunderstanding. I want to be there to be the blessing when someone needs one.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-21

“Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” Luke 12:33-34

“As for the rich in this present age, charge them not to be haughty, nor to set their hopes on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly provides us with everything to enjoy. They are to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share, thus storing up treasure for themselves as a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is truly life.” 1 Timothy 6:17-19

 

 

Leave a comment